Tips for online filing

Client support

Telephone service, Monday–Friday 9.00–16.15 (local network charge/mobile call charge):

+358 29 509 5700 or +358 29 497 051

You can send an online support request here.

How to log on to the online service

You can file your notification online if

  • you are at least 18 years old
  • you have a Finnish personal identity code
  • you have your own personal internet banking codes or an electronic identity card (HST card).

Log on to the online service.

Notifications

Once you have logged on to the online service, you can start a notification. Please note that you must fill in the form either in Finnish or in Swedish.

First select “Yrityksen perustaminen"/"Grunda företag" or “Yrityksen tietojen muutokset"/"Ändra företagets uppgifter". Then you can start entering your information.

Example: How can I file changes?

  1. Select “Yrityksen tietojen muutokset" or “Ändra företagets uppgifter".
  2. Enter the Business ID of the company.
  3. Select “Aloita uusi muutosilmoitus" or “Påbörja en ny ändringsanmälan".
  4. Select the language and start your notification. Enter the background information and contents of your notification.
  5. Accept and sign your notification.
  6. Pay and send your notification.

If you are not authorised to sign the notification, you can accept the contents and use the "Jätä allekirjoitettavaksi" or “Lämna för underskrift" button to leave the notification to be signed by a signatory. See more under “How to sign notifications online" below.

When logged in, you will see the notifications you have filed under “Omat ilmoitukset" or “Egna anmälningar" on the right.

Under “Yrityksen ilmoitukset" or “Företagets anmälningar", you can read notifications of a particular company if you are in charge of filing notifications as an ordinary member of the board of directors in a limited liability company or as an authorised representative etc.

How to sign notifications online

A company’s online notifications can be signed by:

  • ordinary members of the board of directors or chairpersons in limited liability companies or co-operatives
  • managing directors
  • private traders
  • partners in general partnerships
  • general partners in limited partnerships.

Holders of procuration or persons authorised to represent the company cannot sign a Trade Register notification. A signatory who has been registered in the Trade Register before 1994 cannot sign changes online.

If another person has filled in the notification, the signatory can log on to the online service and select either “Yrityksen perustaminen"/"Grunda företag" or “Yrityksen tietojen muutokset"/“Ändra företagets uppgifter". After that, the signatory enters either the notification number or the Business ID of the company. The signatory will be directed to the signing page where he or she can confirm the notification and use the “Allekirjoita" or “Ja, jag undertecknar" button.

How to pay the handling fee

You can pay the handling fee through the online service after you have signed the notification. The notification can also be paid by someone else than the person filing or signing the notification.

The fee can be paid from the company bank account using internet banking codes or by company credit card, or from some other bank account using internet banking codes, or by using a credit card of some other organisation or person.

The fees are paid using the authentication and payment service Vetuma, which is designed for Finnish public administration online services. Vetuma includes online banking services and the online payment service provided by Nets Oy.

Notifications that are subject to a fee, such as start-up notifications of limited liability companies or changes to persons responsible for the company, will not be processed or registered until the fee is paid. Read more about the prices.

How to save an unfinished notification

You can stop filling in the online form at any stage before signing or before leaving the notification to be signed by someone else. Use the “Tallenna keskeneräisenä" or “Spara som icke slutförd" button to save your unfinished notification and to continue filling in the form later.

You can use the “Poista ilmoitus" or “Ta bort anmälan" button to remove the entire notification before signing or before leaving it to be signed by someone else. In that case, you will lose all the information you have filled in and you cannot continue filling in the form later.

List of notifications

The service shows a list of the notifications that you or your company has filed.

Your role in the company determines the extent of your rights to view notifications. Authorised representatives or persons who, according to law, are responsible for filing start-up notifications or notifications of changes can view notifications that they or the company has filed.

Unauthorised representatives can only view notifications that they have filed themselves.


How to authorise a representative

Companies can authorise someone outside the company to sign their notifications. The following persons registered in the PRH Trade Register can give authorisation:

  • ordinary members of the board of directors in limited liability companies, housing companies or co-operatives
  • managing directors
  • house managers of housing companies
  • private traders
  • partners in general partnerships
  • general partners in limited partnerships.

Companies registered only in the Registers of the Tax Administration (VAT Register, the Prepayment Register and the Employer Register) but not in the PRH Trade Register cannot authorise a representative.

This is how you authorise a representative at the ytj.fi website so that he or she can file notifications on behalf of your business:

  1. Log on to the online service with your personal Internet banking codes or with your electronic identity card (HST card).
  2. Enter the Business ID of the company and select “Jatka" or “Fortsätt".
  3. Select “Valtuuta asiamies" or “Auktorisera ett ombud".
  4. Enter the personal identity code and surname of the representative, and the starting date of the authorisation. If the authorisation is valid for an unspecified period, you don’t need to enter the ending date.
  5. Select “Lisää" or “Lägg till".
  6. Accept the authorisation.

The authorisation ends

  • when the authorisation expires, or
  • when the authorised representative, or the person giving the authorisation, removes the authorisation, or
  • when the person giving the authorisation no longer has a position in the company that entitles them to give authorisations.

The validity is checked every time the authorisation is used.

In the “Valtuutukset" or “Auktoriseringar" list, you can see the persons who the company has authorised, the authorisation period, and the name of the person who gave the authorisation. In the “Valtuutushistoria" or “Auktoriseringshistoria" list, you will find information about previous authorisations and why they ended.

Only you can remove authorisations given by you.

My authorisations

In the “Omat valtuutukset" or “Egna auktoriseringar" list, you can see the companies that have authorised you, the authorisation period, and the name of the person who authorised you. In the “Valtuutushistoria" or “Auktoriseringshistoria" list, you will find information about your latest authorisations that have ended and why they ended.

You can end your authorisation in the companies you have selected.